Selections by Stated Criteria
There is no single best course: it depends on your budget, schedule and goal. These selections list programs whose published records meet a stated criterion. They are unranked, in alphabetical order, contain no scores or reviews, and are not affected by sponsorship.
Exam voucher included and tuition published
Criteria: Fully online comprehensive program · the provider states an exam voucher is included · a total tuition price is published. Note: Lets you see the up-front price and what the voucher is for before you ask the provider anything.
- Medical Billing and Coding Specialist CertificationUniversity of West Florida Continuing Education · training by Career Educational Services · 17 weeks; Oct 20, 2026 - Feb 23, 2027, Tue/Thu 6-9 p.m.$4,500
- Medical Coding & Billing ProfessionalCollege of Western Idaho · training by CareerStep · 12 months$3,699
- Medical Coding and Billing ProfessionalWestern Kentucky University Continuing & Professional Development · training by CareerStep · Full access for 12 months$3,699
- Medical Coding and Billing ProgramMississippi State University Center for Continuing Education · training by CareerStep · Full access for 12 months$4,199
- Online Medical Billing & Coding CertificationClinical Skills Institute · Not published$900
- CPC Training Course (80 clock hours)Coding Clarified · 80 clock hours; 16 weeks on average$5,999
- Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)Central Maine Community College · training by Ed2go · 370 course hours; 12 months of access$3,499
- Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)Hagerstown Community College - Workforce Solutions & Continuing Education · training by Ed2go · Self-paced; completed in 12 months or less$3,499
- Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)Schoolcraft College · training by Ed2go · 370 course hours; 12 months of access$3,604
- Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)Bunker Hill Community College · training by Ed2go · 370 course hours; 12 months of access$3,604
- Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)University of Florida · training by Ed2go · 370 course hours; 12 months of access$3,709
- Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included)Vermont State University (Center for Workforce & Professional Education) · training by Ed2go · 370 course hours; 12 months of access$3,499
Showing 12 of 52. Open these filters in the full comparison →
Published duration of six months or less
Criteria: Fully online comprehensive program · the provider publishes a duration (in months) of 6 or fewer. Note: Short does not mean complete: read what a short course can and cannot cover.
- Medical Billing and Coding Certification (ATI)Alamo Colleges District (Alamo Technical Institute) · 4-month training, 196 contact hours$4,745
- Medical Billing and Coding Specialist CertificationUniversity of West Florida Continuing Education · training by Career Educational Services · 17 weeks; Oct 20, 2026 - Feb 23, 2027, Tue/Thu 6-9 p.m.$4,500
- CPC Training Course (80 clock hours)Coding Clarified · 80 clock hours; 16 weeks on average$5,999
- Medical Billing & CodingCommunity College of Beaver County · 1 semesterNo price
- Medical Billing & Coding Micro-credentialGenesee Community College · taken part-time, online over 2 semestersNo price
- Certified Professional Medical Coder Workplace CertificateHawkeye Community College · 5 months$4,099
- Medical Billing & Coding Online (Professional Development Certificate)Texarkana College · training by Health Ed Today · Six months access$1,799
- Online Medical Billing & Coding Bootcamp (CBCS)Health Tech Academy · 12 weeks$1,500
- Medical Insurance Billing A-Z PlusHoward Community College · Sep 14-Nov 2 Online$2,026
- 100% Online Certified Medical Billing and Coding Specialist ClassMedNoc Training College · 12 weeks, 360 clock hours$1,000
- Professional Certificate in Medical Coding OnlineNational University · Self-paced; can be completed within 6 months$2,995
- Medical Coding (Workforce and Continuing Education)Temple College · 19 weeks, 106 hours$3,295
Showing 12 of 15. Open these filters in the full comparison →
Credit-bearing certificates with a published total
Criteria: Fully online academic program · credit-bearing · a total tuition price is published. Note: Credit may transfer or count toward a degree; confirm with the receiving school.
- Medical Coding Certificate of AchievementFresno City College · Three semesters$1,564
- Associate Degree in Medical Coding (Online)Herzing University · Less than 2 years; listed length 16 months$31,800
- Medical Billing & Coding Online Associate DegreeHerzing University · Listed length 16 months$31,800
- Medical Coding Diploma Program OnlineHerzing University · As little as 8 months; listed length 10 months$13,250
- Medical Insurance Coding DiplomaIndian Hills Community College · 4 Terms or 12 Months$12,316
- Medical Coding Technical CertificateIvy Tech Community College · 2-3 semesters$6,065
- Medical Billing and Coding Certificate ProgramKeystone College · 15 credits across 7- to 15-week courses$6,750
- Medical Billing and Coding CertificateKirtland Community College · Part-time 5 semesters; full-time 3 semesters$9,500
- Online CTS in Medical Billing and CodingLSU Eunice · Not published$9,100
- Medical Billing and Coding CertificateRasmussen University · in as few as 9 months$14,577
- Medical Insurance Coder/Biller Certificate (Online)San Juan College · As little as 16 months$5,800
- Medical Coding Specialist CertificateSanta Barbara City College · Not published$1,748
Showing 12 of 13. Open these filters in the full comparison →
Published tuition under $2,000
Criteria: Fully online comprehensive program · total tuition published and under $2,000. Note: Check what the price leaves out: books, exam fees and memberships.
- Medical Billing and Coding - Self-Directed Online ClassesCalhoun Community College · Not published$1,799
- Certified Professional Biller (CPB) CourseCCO · 40-hour equivalent course$1,447
- Online Medical Coding Course (Physician Based, CPC and CCS-P prep)CCO · 80-hour equivalent course$1,447
- Online Medical Billing & Coding CertificationClinical Skills Institute · Not published$900
- Medical Billing & Coding Online (Professional Development Certificate)Texarkana College · training by Health Ed Today · Six months access$1,799
- Medical Billing and Coding CertificateSan Francisco State University, College of Professional & Global Education · training by Health Ed Today · Up to 9 months (6 months access with possible 3-month extension)$1,799
- Online Medical Billing & Coding Bootcamp (CBCS)Health Tech Academy · 12 weeks$1,500
- Medical Billing and CodingHill College · 240 hours$1,155
- Medical Billing and Coding (workforce, online)Louisiana Delta Community College · not stated; dates TBA$1,998
- CPC Medical Coding Training, Online Self StudyMedical Billing & Coding Preparation Center, LLC · Not published$1,400
- 100% Online Certified Medical Billing and Coding Specialist ClassMedNoc Training College · 12 weeks, 360 clock hours$1,000
- Medical Billing and Coding Career DiplomaPenn Foster · Estimated completion: fast track 10 months, average 14 months$1,569
Showing 12 of 13. Open these filters in the full comparison →
Free to start or free introductory courses
Criteria: Introductory resource · the provider says learning access is free (a certificate may cost extra). Note: Good for testing interest. Not a career program and not exam preparation by itself.
- Diploma in Medical Coding and BillingAlison · 15-20 Hours (Contains Video)No price
- Free Online Medical Coding Course (i2MC)AMCI · not statedNo price
- Doctor's Office Billing Online CourseAmerican Medical Billing Association · Average course completion time is 40-50 hours$299
- Medical Billing Online CourseAmerican Medical Billing Association · One year from purchase to complete$399
- ICD-10 to Clean Claims: Medical Billing and CodingCoursera · 4 weeks to complete at 10 hours a weekNo price
- Medical Billing: Code, Claim, CollectCoursera · 2 hours to completeNo price
- Revenue Cycle, Billing, and CodingJohns Hopkins University (via Coursera) · 6 hours to completeNo price
- Foundations of Medical Coding and ICD-10-CMSkillUp (via Coursera) · 7 hours to completeNo price
- Intro to Billing & Coding (hybrid)Wallace State Community College · 14 weeks$700
- Medical Insurance/Coding CertificateWayne Community College · 16-week online courseNo price
10 programs. Open these filters in the full comparison →































