Online Medical Billing Courses

Programs whose focus is preparing and managing claims. Programs that teach both billing and coding are on the combined comparison; coding-only programs are under medical coding.

7 programs

Default order: provider name, A–Z. No paid placement affects it.

Online Medical Billing Courses
Program & providerFocus & awardCertification preparation & exam voucherDelivery & durationPublished costActions
Online Medical Billing Certification Program
CareerStep
Quick facts

Self-paced online medical billing program covering reimbursement methods, ACA, medical terminology and coding fundamentals, aligned to the NHA CBCS.

Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published

Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.

Reviewed October 18, 2026

Medical billing
Not published
  • CBCS Voucher not confirmed
Fully online · Self-paced
Online and self-paced; access length not stated
$3,399
Other costs may apply
View details
Medical Billing Program
Southern Utah University Professional Development · training by CareerStep
Quick facts

CareerStep medical billing program through SUU Professional Development preparing for the NHA CBCS credential.

Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published

Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.

Reviewed October 18, 2026

Medical billing
Not published
  • CBCS Voucher not confirmed
Fully online · Self-paced
Not stated
$3,399
Other costs may apply
View details
Medical Billing
Western Kentucky University Continuing & Professional Development · training by CareerStep
Quick facts

CareerStep online medical billing program offered through WKU Continuing & Professional Development, preparing for the NHA CBCS exam.

Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published

Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.

Reviewed October 18, 2026

Medical billing
Not published
  • CBCS Voucher not confirmed
Fully online · Self-paced
Full access for 8 months
$3,399
Other costs may apply
View details
Certified Professional Biller (CPB) Course
CCO
Quick facts

Self-paced 40-hour-equivalent video course on physician-office medical billing (claims, payers, revenue cycle, compliance) that prepares students for the AAPC CPB exam.

Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: All levels

Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.

Reviewed October 18, 2026

Medical billing
Not published
  • CPB Voucher not confirmed
Fully online · Self-paced
40-hour equivalent course
$1,447
Other costs may apply
View details
Medical Billing Course
Towson University Continuing & Professional Studies · training by Ed2go
Quick facts

Self-paced 310-hour Ed2go medical billing course delivered through Towson CPS, preparing for the AAPC Certified Professional Biller exam; materials, membership and exam voucher included.

Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published

Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.

Reviewed October 18, 2026

Medical billing
Course completion certificate
  • CPB Exam voucher included
Fully online · Self-paced
310 hours, must be completed in 12 months
$2,899
Other costs may apply
View details
Medical Billing Certification - Online CPB Training Program
Genesis Medical College
Quick facts

100% online self-paced medical billing program covering claims, reimbursement workflows, ICD-10, X12 5010 and compliance, with exam voucher included in tuition.

Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners

Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.

Reviewed October 18, 2026

Medical billing
Course completion certificate
  • CPB Exam voucher included
Fully online · Self-paced
Approximately 9 months
$3,440
Other costs may apply
View details
Medical Insurance Billing A-Z Plus
Howard Community College
Quick facts

Maryland noncredit online medical insurance billing course (10 CEUs) covering ICD-10-CM/PCS principles, EHR, claims submission, Medicare/Medicaid and appeals; certification exam optional afterward.

Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published

Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.

Reviewed October 18, 2026

Medical billing
Not published
No exam preparation stated
Fully online
Sep 14-Nov 2 Online
$2,026
Other costs may apply
View details

What a billing program usually covers

Billing courses typically cover claim forms (CMS-1500 and UB-04), payer rules, adjudication, denials and appeals, patient balances and compliance basics. They may touch codes without teaching a full coding system. Each program page lists what the provider says it covers.

See medical billing vs coding for how the two roles differ.