Free and Introductory Courses
Introductory resources, kept separate from comprehensive training. A free introductory course teaches foundations; it is not a career program and it does not make you eligible for, or certified by, anyone.
10 programs
Default order: provider name, A–Z. No paid placement affects it.
| Program & provider | Focus & award | Certification preparation & exam voucher | Delivery & duration | Published cost | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Diploma in Medical Coding and Billing Alison Introductory / free resourceQuick factsFree self-study video course on CPT, HCPCS and ICD-10 coding and completing UB-04 and CMS-1500 forms. Labeled Advanced Level on the page. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced 15-20 Hours (Contains Video) | Not published | |
Free Online Medical Coding Course (i2MC) AMCI Introductory / free resourceQuick factsFree introductory course for people exploring medical coding, covering the foundations of ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II and modifiers. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Not published | No exam preparation stated | Fully online not stated | Not published | |
Doctor's Office Billing Online Course American Medical Billing Association Introductory / free resourceQuick factsSelf-paced 23-section online course on office billing, claims, collections and compliance with a final exam and printable certificate of completion; average completion 40-50 hours. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical billing Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced Average course completion time is 40-50 hours | $299 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing Online Course American Medical Billing Association Introductory / free resourceQuick factsSelf-led 35-section medical billing course ending in a final exam (75% to pass) and a printable completion certificate. Not a professional credential. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical billing Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced One year from purchase to complete | $399 Other costs may apply | |
ICD-10 to Clean Claims: Medical Billing and Coding Coursera Introductory / free resourceQuick factsFour-course beginner specialization on code sets, claim lifecycle and documentation-driven reimbursement. Not available free according to its FAQ. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced 4 weeks to complete at 10 hours a week | Not published | |
Medical Billing: Code, Claim, Collect Coursera Introductory / free resourceQuick factsShort beginner course on ICD coding, the claim lifecycle and electronic claim submission. No exam prep is stated. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical billing Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced 2 hours to complete | Not published | |
Revenue Cycle, Billing, and Coding Johns Hopkins University (via Coursera) Introductory / free resourceQuick factsShort beginner course on the healthcare revenue cycle, insurance types, and basics of CPT, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS billing and coding. Enrollment is free; the certificate is a paid add-on. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced 6 hours to complete | Not published | |
Foundations of Medical Coding and ICD-10-CM SkillUp (via Coursera) Introductory / free resourceQuick factsBeginner course covering medical terminology, anatomy basics, documentation and the CPT, ICD-10-CM and HCPCS Level II code sets. First course in a CPC exam preparation specialization. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 7 hours to complete | Not published | |
Intro to Billing & Coding (hybrid) Wallace State Community College Introductory / free resourceQuick facts14-week hybrid introductory course on billing, ICD-10-CM and CPT coding and medical terminology; does not by itself lead to national certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Hybrid (some in-person) 14 weeks | $700 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Insurance/Coding Certificate Wayne Community College Introductory / free resourceQuick factsNorth Carolina community college workforce-continuing-education 16-week online introductory course for coding and billing in healthcare agencies. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Instructor-led · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Instructor-led 16-week online course | Not published |
Read each listing for four things
- What is free: often the lessons, not the certificate. Where a certificate costs extra, the program page says so.
- Time limits: some free access ends after a period; the access limit is shown when published.
- Depth: introductory means exactly that. Compare against comprehensive programs if employment training is the goal.
- Exam preparation: shown only when the provider states it. See certificate vs certification.





