Independent comparison · United States
Compare Online Medical Billing and Coding Courses
Explore training providers, compare published costs and course formats, and understand certification preparation before choosing a program.
- Programs in this comparison
- 191
- Providers · institutions
- 113 · 176
- Published tuition, comprehensive programs (81 with a price)
- $900 – $9,543 · median $3,499
Showing fully online, comprehensive and academic programs. There are 21 individual courses, introductory resources and advanced exam-prep courses (select Program type), and 10 hybrid programs with required in-person parts (select Delivery → Hybrid) listed separately. See every record.
129 programs of 191 match your filters
Default order: provider name, A–Z. No paid placement affects it.
| Program & provider | Focus & award | Certification preparation & exam voucher | Delivery & duration | Published cost | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Medical Billing & Coding Online (Professional Development Certificate) Texarkana College · training by Health Ed Today Quick factsSelf-paced noncredit online course delivered through Health Ed Today with six months of access; tuition includes textbooks and workbooks. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced Six months access | $1,799 Other costs may apply | |
Online Medical Billing & Coding Bootcamp (CBCS) Health Tech Academy Quick factsSelf-paced 12-week online bootcamp preparing for the NHA CBCS exam, with eBook, practice exams, coaching and the CBCS exam fee included. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 12 weeks | $1,500 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing & Coding Online Associate Degree Herzing University Academic programQuick facts60-credit online associate degree combining CPT/ICD-10/HCPCS coding, revenue cycle, pathophysiology and pharmacology, with a required internship or research project. Credit: Credit-bearing · 60 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Associate degree | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Listed length 16 months | $31,800 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Online Diploma Program Herzing University Academic programQuick facts25-credit online diploma with a certification review course covering CBCS from NHA; up to 18 transfer credits may be accepted. Credit: Credit-bearing · 25 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners Tuition is published per credit; the total depends on the credits required. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Diploma |
| Fully online less than 1 year (as few as 32 weeks); listed length 10 months | $530 / credit Total not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding Hill College Quick factsTexas community college workforce program of 240 instructional hours (24 CEUs) in medical terminology, basic medical coding and medical insurance; schedule line lists Online. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 240 hours | $1,155 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate - Fully Online Hudson County Community College Academic programQuick factsNew Jersey academic certificate offered in a fully online version, with clinical coding, CPT/HCPCS, pathopharmacology, reimbursement and medical billing courses. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Academic certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Medical Billing Certificate (online) Kent State University Academic programQuick factsA 21-credit undergraduate certificate delivered 100% online covering CPT/ICD coding, medical terminology and billing, ending with an internship or applied project. Credit: Credit-bearing · 21 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online As little as 3 semesters | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate Program Keystone College Academic programQuick factsA 15-credit cohort-based online certificate (asynchronous) of five 3-credit courses plus an AAPC certification exam. Credit: Credit-bearing · 15 credits · Pacing: Instructor-led · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Academic certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Instructor-led 15 credits across 7- to 15-week courses | $6,750 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate Kirtland Community College Academic programQuick factsEntirely online credit program that can be taken part-time (5 semesters) or full-time (3 semesters); exam fees are not covered by tuition. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Part-time 5 semesters; full-time 3 semesters | $9,500 Other costs may apply | |
Online Self-Paced Medical Billing & Coding Lackawanna College Quick factsFully online self-paced 755-hour noncredit program preparing for the AHIMA CCA or NHA CBCS exams. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced 755 hours | $7,500 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Biller & Coder Certificate Program Online Lehman College (CUNY) Quick factsA 100% live-online AAPC-approved curriculum covering both CPB and CPC tracks, with exam vouchers and AAPC student membership included. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Instructor-led · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Instructor-led About 18 months for both certifications (twice a week) | $6,320 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (workforce, online) Louisiana Delta Community College Quick factsWorkforce online medical billing and coding course; price includes the NHA CBCS exam and test prep resources. Dates are listed as TBA. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online not stated; dates TBA | $1,998 Other costs may apply | |
Online CTS in Medical Billing and Coding LSU Eunice Academic programQuick factsA 35-credit online certificate covering terminology, anatomy, ICD-10-CM/PCS, CPT, HCPCS, billing and a practicum course, with multiple start dates per year. Credit: Credit-bearing · 35 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not published | $9,100 Other costs may apply | |
100% Online Certified Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Class MedNoc Training College Quick facts360-clock-hour, 12-week CBCS program offered 100% online self-paced or in an online hybrid format with a weekly virtual class. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Some extra charges are listed without saying whether they are compulsory. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 12 weeks, 360 clock hours | $1,000 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate – 100% Online Missouri Western State University Academic programQuick factsOnline certificate in ICD-10, CPT and HCPCS coding, EHR, medical terminology and payer systems with optional in-person support in Missouri. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Online Medical Billing & Coding Certification Prep Nevada State University - Workforce Development Quick facts370-hour fully online course with 12 months of access that covers ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT and HCPCS Level II and includes a voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS exam. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 370-hour course with 12 months of access | Not published | |
Medical Coding & Billing Certificate North Central Missouri College Academic programQuick factsA 25-credit certificate whose courses can be taken in the classroom or fully online, preparing students to work between medical offices and insurers. Credit: Credit-bearing · 25 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Academic certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate (100% online) Northern Essex Community College Academic programQuick factsCredit certificate that NECC describes as 100% online and aimed at the AAPC CPC exam; credits can transfer to an Associate Degree in General Studies: Health Specialization. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding (ed2go, voucher included) Aims Community College - Continuing Education · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced ed2go course delivered through Aims Community College continuing education, ending with a voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS exam. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Online Medical Billing and Coding Training Governors State University · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published |
Coding versus billing
Medical coding turns documented diagnoses, procedures and services into standardized codes (ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS Level II). Medical billing uses those codes to prepare claims, follow them with payers and handle patient balances. Some programs teach only one, many teach both, and the names are not always precise — check the curriculum on each program page.
Certificates versus certification
A certificate comes from the school that taught the course. A professional certification such as CPC, CCA, CCS or CBCS comes from an outside credentialing body after you pass its exam. Finishing a course does not award a credential, and a course “aligned to” an exam is not the same as an eligibility guarantee.
Browse by exam preparation
Only programs that explicitly say they prepare students for the exam are listed. The credentials are not interchangeable and differ in audience.
Schools and providers
154 training providers and 196 institutions appear in the records. A university or college may market a course that another company delivers; both are shown. Browse providers.
Cost and duration
Prices are shown as published, with the date and source. A monthly installment is never shown as tuition, and no total is calculated when mandatory costs are unknown. Cost guide · Duration guide.
Methodology
Every fact links to the page it came from, and quoted facts are machine-checked against that page. Unknown stays unknown. Paid placement is separate from research. How we research.
For providers
Free basic profiles are built from your public pages. You can claim a profile, send corrections, or ask about sponsored placements, which are always labeled and never alter research status. Learn more.















