Medical billingComprehensive career trainingFully online

Medical Billing

Western Kentucky University Continuing & Professional Development · training delivered by CareerStep

Visit official program ↗Report a correction

Cost

$3,399
Published tuition (Program tuition)
ItemAmountStatus
Program tuition
Published price
$3,399
total
Compulsory
  • Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.
  • Prices checked October 18, 2026.

Delivery and schedule

Format
Fully online
Pacing
Self-paced
Scheduled live attendance
Not published
Start dates
Not published
Expected duration
Full access for 8 months
Weekly workload
Not published
Course access
8 months
In-person requirements
None stated by the provider

Award and certification

Award from the institution
Not published
Academic credit
Not stated
Professional credential preparation
  • CBCS — Certified Billing and Coding Specialist
    Voucher not confirmed
    Page says industry-standard certification testing vouchers are included with CareerStep programs generally; this program's voucher is not specified individually.
    Provider statement
Eligibility caveat
Completing this program does not award a professional credential. Eligibility requirements are set by the credentialing body and may include separate education, membership or experience conditions.

Curriculum

Overview
CareerStep online medical billing program offered through WKU Continuing & Professional Development, preparing for the NHA CBCS exam.
Main subjects
  • medical terminology
  • health information management
  • healthcare ethics
  • reimbursement methods
  • coding fundamentals
  • Affordable Care Act
Coding systems covered
Not published
Billing and reimbursement content
reimbursement methods
Medical terminology and anatomy
Not published
Software or practice platform
Not published
Practical exercises
Not published

Admissions

Educational prerequisites
Not published
Audience
Not published
Age requirement
Not published
State or residency restrictions
None published
Technology requirements
Not published

Financial assistance

Federal student aid
Not confirmed
Payment plan
Not confirmed
Other
Nothing published

Aid eligibility is checked per program. A university marketing a course does not make that course aid-eligible, and financing is not a scholarship or grant.

Who is behind this program

Institution marketing the program
Western Kentucky University Continuing & Professional Development · University Research checked
Actual training provider
CareerStep (delivers the underlying course) Research checked
Underlying program
The Online Medical Billing Certification Program
Institutional accreditation / approvals
Not confirmed
Institutional accreditation does not mean a program is approved by a professional certification body.
The same underlying course is also marketed through: Southern Utah University Professional Development, CareerStep. Price, support, funding and inclusions can differ by institution — compare them rather than assuming they match.

Sources and review

Last reviewed October 18, 2026. Source check: “verified” means the quoted text was found on the page by an automated check; “pending” means not yet checked or the page could not be read.

  • verifiedinstitutionwku.edu“WKU Continuing & Professional Development is excited to welcome our new partner, CareerStep”
  • verifieddeliverywku.edu“CareerStep offers online, self-paced courses designed to be completed in one year or less.”
  • verifieddurationwku.edu“Full access for 8 months $3,399 CBCS Certification Prep”
  • verifiedcurriculumwku.edu“It covers key topics such as medical terminology, health information management, and revenue cycle management.”
  • verifiedofficial pagewku.edu

Something wrong or out of date? Report a correction. Provider representative? Claim this profile.