Online CBCS Preparation Courses
The Certified Billing and Coding Specialist (CBCS) is issued by the National Healthcareer Association (NHA) and covers both billing and coding. A course that includes a CBCS voucher still requires you to pass the NHA exam to earn the credential.
75 programs
Default order: provider name, A–Z. No paid placement affects it.
| Program & provider | Focus & award | Certification preparation & exam voucher | Delivery & duration | Published cost | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Online Medical Billing and Coding Training University of Houston (Online & Special Programs) · training by Ed2go Quick factsNon-credit, self-paced Ed2go course offered via UH Online with ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT and HCPCS Level II training and a choice of CPC, CCA or CBCS exam voucher. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 12 months to complete 370 course hours | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist University of Montana Bitterroot College · training by Ed2go Quick factsSelf-paced 370-hour noncredit online course (ed2go) with a medical terminology module and a certification exam voucher. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced 370 hours online, 12 months access | $3,894 Promo $3,499 (conditions apply) Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) Utah Valley University · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,604 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) Vermont State University (Center for Workforce & Professional Education) · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,499 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) Whatcom Community College · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,499 Other costs may apply | |
Online Medical Billing & Coding Bootcamp (CBCS) Health Tech Academy Quick factsSelf-paced 12-week online bootcamp preparing for the NHA CBCS exam, with eBook, practice exams, coaching and the CBCS exam fee included. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 12 weeks | $1,500 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Online Diploma Program Herzing University Academic programQuick facts25-credit online diploma with a certification review course covering CBCS from NHA; up to 18 transfer credits may be accepted. Credit: Credit-bearing · 25 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners Tuition is published per credit; the total depends on the credits required. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Diploma |
| Fully online less than 1 year (as few as 32 weeks); listed length 10 months | $530 / credit Total not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding Hill College Quick factsTexas community college workforce program of 240 instructional hours (24 CEUs) in medical terminology, basic medical coding and medical insurance; schedule line lists Online. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 240 hours | $1,155 Other costs may apply | |
Online Self-Paced Medical Billing & Coding Lackawanna College Quick factsFully online self-paced 755-hour noncredit program preparing for the AHIMA CCA or NHA CBCS exams. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced 755 hours | $7,500 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (workforce, online) Louisiana Delta Community College Quick factsWorkforce online medical billing and coding course; price includes the NHA CBCS exam and test prep resources. Dates are listed as TBA. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online not stated; dates TBA | $1,998 Other costs may apply | |
100% Online Certified Medical Billing and Coding Specialist Class MedNoc Training College Quick facts360-clock-hour, 12-week CBCS program offered 100% online self-paced or in an online hybrid format with a weekly virtual class. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Some extra charges are listed without saying whether they are compulsory. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 12 weeks, 360 clock hours | $1,000 Other costs may apply | |
Online Medical Billing & Coding Certification Prep Nevada State University - Workforce Development Quick facts370-hour fully online course with 12 months of access that covers ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT and HCPCS Level II and includes a voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS exam. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 370-hour course with 12 months of access | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding (ed2go, voucher included) Aims Community College - Continuing Education · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced ed2go course delivered through Aims Community College continuing education, ending with a voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS exam. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Online Medical Billing and Coding Training Governors State University · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certification Training Metropolitan State University of Denver · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding (online course with exam voucher) Northwest Arkansas Community College · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Online Medical Billing and Coding Certification Prep Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Online Medical Billing and Coding Certification Prep Saint Joseph's College of Maine · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Vouchers Included) State College of Florida, Manatee-Sarasota · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Medical Billing & Coding Course Online University of Illinois Springfield (CAPE) · training by Northwest Florida State College Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online Ed2Go-style medical billing and coding course with a certificate of completion and an exam voucher (CPC, CCA or CBCS); no prerequisites. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published |
Certified Billing and Coding Specialist (CBCS)
- Issuing organization
- NHA (National Healthcareer Association) · official site
- Intended audience
- Not confirmed from an official page
- Current eligibility requirements
- High school diploma/GED (or scheduled to earn within 12-18 months, sources differ), or completed billing and coding program within last 5 years, or supervised work experience (WebSearch snippet of NHA pages; paraphrase) (source)
- Exam format
- official page blocked, not confirmed (total/scored question count not obtained; FAQ says code books not allowed from 24 Sep 2024) (source)
- Exam fee
- NHA store lists CBCS exam application at $134 (snippet; confirm) (source)
- Official credential information
- https://www.nhanow.com/certification/nha-certifications/medical-billing-and-coding-specialist-(cbcs)
- Last reviewed
- October 18, 2026
Beginner training versus exam review
Programs here are filed by type. A career program teaches the subject from the beginning; exam review assumes you already know it. Check the program type and audience on each listing.
Vouchers and memberships
Of 76 programs that state CBCS preparation, 58 state that a CBCS exam voucher is included. A voucher pays for an exam attempt; it does not make you eligible and does not guarantee a pass. The number of included attempts is shown only where the provider publishes it; “not confirmed” is not “no”.
Published tuition among these programs ranges from $900 to $7,500 (51 with a published price).
Certificate vs certification · How we verify preparation claims












