Online Medical Coding Courses
Programs whose focus is assigning diagnosis and procedure codes. Programs that teach both coding and billing are on the combined comparison; billing-only programs are under medical billing.
55 programs
Default order: provider name, A–Z. No paid placement affects it.
| Program & provider | Focus & award | Certification preparation & exam voucher | Delivery & duration | Published cost | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Associate Degree in Medical Coding (Online) Herzing University Academic programQuick facts60-credit online associate degree in medical coding with general education, CPT/ICD-10 coding courses and an internship or research project. Credit: Credit-bearing · 60 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Associate degree | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Less than 2 years; listed length 16 months | $31,800 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coding Diploma Program Online Herzing University Academic programQuick facts25-credit online diploma covering ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT/HCPCS coding, patient privacy, insurance claims and anatomy, with a certification review course. Credit: Credit-bearing · 25 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma |
| Fully online As little as 8 months; listed length 10 months | $13,250 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coding Intermediate Technical Certificate Idaho State University Academic programQuick factsA 38-credit intermediate technical certificate in medical coding that ISU describes as fully online, with Spring and Fall entry. Credit: Credit-bearing · 38 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Medical Insurance Coding Diploma Indian Hills Community College Academic programQuick factsA 4-term (12-month) online diploma in medical insurance coding with Fall and Spring entry. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma |
| Fully online 4 Terms or 12 Months | $12,316 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coding Technical Certificate Ivy Tech Community College Academic programQuick factsA 34-credit-hour technical certificate in medical coding, 2-3 semesters, available 100% online, with selective admissions. Credit: Credit-bearing · 34 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online 2-3 semesters | $6,065 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coding Certificate Kennebec Valley Community College Academic programQuick factsMaine 34-credit medical coding certificate listed as an online program, teaching ICD-10-CM/PCS and CPT coding with encoder and electronic medical record software. Credit: Credit-bearing · 34 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Not published | Not published | |
OEC in Medical Office Coding University of Alaska Anchorage (Kodiak College) · training by Kodiak College, University of Alaska Anchorage Academic programQuick facts17-credit, three-semester fully online occupational endorsement certificate in medical office coding delivered through Kodiak College and UAA. Credit: Credit-bearing · 17 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online 18 months (three semesters), 17 semester credits | Not published | |
Medical Coding Specialist Certificate (CRT.MCS) Lake Land College Academic programQuick factsCredit certificate in diagnostic and procedural coding that Lake Land states is offered online, with an internship course. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Medical Coder (Competency-Based Education) Lakeshore College Quick factsWisconsin technical college 31-credit competency-based diploma with year-round starts; courses can be completed 100% online and a practicum is included. Credit: Credit-bearing · 31 credits · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Some extra charges are listed without saying whether they are compulsory. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced 2 Terms 31 Credits | $5,329.90 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coding Professional Macomb Community College Quick factsWorkforce and Continuing Education program completed entirely online in about nine months, preparing for the AAPC CPC exam. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Not published |
| Fully online Nine months | Not published | |
Medical Coding Specialist Madison Area Technical College (Madison College) Academic programQuick factsThirty-five-credit technical diploma delivered all online (virtual campus) with some proctored final exams; limited to Wisconsin residents. Credit: Credit-bearing · 35 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma |
| Fully online Not published | Not published | |
CPC Medical Coding Training, Online Self Study Medical Billing & Coding Preparation Center, LLC Quick factsSelf-study online CPC course with audio lectures, quizzes and a final exam; course fees include code books, an AAPC membership and the CPC exam once all fees are paid. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | $1,400 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coder Mid-State Technical College Quick factsWisconsin technical college 31-32 credit one-year medical coder program with an Online location where all core classes can be completed. Credit: Credit-bearing · 31 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Program Length One Year | Not published | |
Medical Coding Certificate Montgomery College Academic programQuick facts31-credit for-credit certificate preparing students as medical coders, abstractors and billers; the program can be completed fully online. Selective admission. Credit: Credit-bearing · 31 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Tuition is published per credit; the total depends on the credits required. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Not published | $553.80 / credit Total not published | |
Professional Certificate in Medical Coding Online National University Quick factsSix-module self-paced online coding certificate (terminology, A&P, ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS, exam review) preparing for the AAPC CPC-A/CPC-P exam; may earn 3 semester credits of prior-learning credit. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Self-paced; can be completed within 6 months | $2,995 Other costs may apply | |
Health Information (Medical Coding) Certificate - Online North Dakota State College of Science Academic programQuick facts40-credit AHIMA PCAP-approved coding certificate; online students take all courses online and finish with a virtual coding practicum. Credit: Credit-bearing · 40 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not stated; 40 required credits | Not published | |
Medical Coding Specialist Certificate Northeast Texas Community College Academic programQuick factsA three-semester, Fall-start Level 1 certificate delivered 100% online that prepares coding specialists to assign procedure and diagnosis codes for claims. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Not published | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Three semesters, Fall start, completion in August | Not published | |
Medical Coding Specialist - Technical Diploma Northeast Wisconsin Technical College Academic programQuick factsA 31-credit technical diploma in medical coding and reimbursement whose credits apply to the Health Information Technology associate degree; WTCS lists the program as offered completely online. Credit: Credit-bearing · 31 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma | No exam preparation stated | Fully online Minimum of three terms | Not published | |
Medical Coding Certificate Northern Maine Community College Academic programQuick facts100% online credit certificate in medical coding, AHIMA PCAP-approved. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Medical Coding Ridgewater College Quick factsMinnesota 40-credit diploma delivered fully online with no set meeting time, covering terminology, pharmacology, disease conditions, reimbursement and insurance billing. Credit: Credit-bearing · 40 credits · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma | No exam preparation stated | Fully online · Self-paced Not published | $9,543 Other costs may apply |
What a coding program usually covers
Coding courses typically cover medical terminology and anatomy, the ICD-10-CM diagnosis code set, CPT and HCPCS Level II procedure and supply codes, and official coding guidelines. What a specific program covers is listed on its page, with the source it came from.
A program that mentions an exam is not necessarily eligible-for or aligned-to that exam in the way you expect. Read certificate vs certification before comparing.










