Academic program. This is a credit-bearing academic program; check the award and credit details below.
Cost
$553.80 per credit
Total tuition not published
| Item | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Tuition and fees, 3 credit hours, Montgomery County resident (2026-2027) Per-credit rate · includes tuition, fees Credit-hour example from college rate table; 31-credit program total not published | $553.80 total | Compulsory? not stated |
| Tuition and fees, 3 credit hours, Maryland state resident (2026-2027) Per-credit rate · includes tuition, fees Credit-hour example | $1,068.60 total | Compulsory? not stated |
| Tuition and fees, 3 credit hours, non-Maryland resident (2026-2027) Per-credit rate · includes tuition, fees Credit-hour example | $1,468.20 total | Compulsory? not stated |
- Tuition is published per credit; the total depends on the credits required.
- Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.
- Prices checked October 18, 2026.
Delivery and schedule
- Format
- Fully online
- Pacing
- Not published
- Scheduled live attendance
- Not published
- Start dates
- Not published
- Expected duration
- Not published
- Weekly workload
- Not published
- Course access
- Not published
- In-person requirements
- None stated by the provider
Award and certification
- Award from the institution
- Academic certificate: Medical Coding CertificateIssued by Montgomery College
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing · 31 credits
- Professional credential preparation
- No exam preparation is stated by the provider
- Eligibility caveat
- Completing this program does not award a professional credential. Eligibility requirements are set by the credentialing body and may include separate education, membership or experience conditions.
Curriculum
- Overview
- 31-credit for-credit certificate preparing students as medical coders, abstractors and billers; the program can be completed fully online. Selective admission.
- Main subjects
- Human body and lab
- Medical terminology I and II
- Concepts of disease
- Healthcare delivery systems
- Introduction to pharmacology
- Advanced coding and clinical documentation improvement
- Ambulatory coding
- Revenue cycle and reimbursement management
- College writing
- Coding systems covered
- CPT, ICD-10
- Billing and reimbursement content
- Revenue cycle and reimbursement management; electronic billing requirements in an outpatient setting
- Medical terminology and anatomy
- Included
- Software or practice platform
- Not published
- Practical exercises
- Not published
Admissions
- Educational prerequisites
- Selective program with specific admission requirements; temporary pre-medical coding major until admitted.
- Audience
- Not published
- Age requirement
- Not published
- State or residency restrictions
- None published
- Technology requirements
- Not published
Financial assistance
- Federal student aid
- Not confirmed
- Payment plan
- Not confirmed
- Other
- Program-level federal aid statement not found on the program pages.
Aid eligibility is checked per program. A university marketing a course does not make that course aid-eligible, and financing is not a scholarship or grant.
Who is behind this program
- Institution marketing the program
- Montgomery College · Community college Research checked
- Actual training provider
- Montgomery College (same as the institution)
- Underlying program
- Medical Coding Certificate (program 525)
- Institutional accreditation / approvals
- Not confirmedInstitutional accreditation does not mean a program is approved by a professional certification body.
Sources and review
Last reviewed October 18, 2026. Source check: “verified” means the quoted text was found on the page by an automated check; “pending” means not yet checked or the page could not be read.
- verifiedinstitutionmontgomerycollege.edu“Medical Coding Certificate | Montgomery College, Maryland”
- pendingawardappserv3.montgomerycollege.edu“MEDICAL CODING CERTIFICATE Total Credits: 31”
- pendingcurriculumappserv3.montgomerycollege.edu“HINM 155 - CPT Coding 2 semester hours HINM 165 - ICD-10 Coding 4 semester hours”
- pendingadmissionsappserv3.montgomerycollege.edu“This is a selective program with specific admission requirements.”
- verifiedofficial pagemontgomerycollege.edu
Something wrong or out of date? Report a correction. Provider representative? Claim this profile.