Online CPC Preparation Courses
The Certified Professional Coder (CPC) is issued by AAPC and focuses on physician-office and outpatient professional-fee coding. A course that prepares for the CPC teaches the knowledge; the credential itself is awarded only after you pass AAPC’s exam and meet AAPC’s requirements.
97 programs
Default order: provider name, A–Z. No paid placement affects it.
| Program & provider | Focus & award | Certification preparation & exam voucher | Delivery & duration | Published cost | Actions |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
Online Medical Billing and Coding Training Tennessee College of Applied Technology Knoxville · training by Ed2go Quick factsSelf-paced, 100% online non-credit medical billing and coding training with a choice of CPC, CCA or CBCS exam voucher, delivered by ed2go under the TCAT Knoxville name. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 370 course hours; 12 months for completion; start anytime | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) Texas State University Extended Learning / Continuing Education · training by Ed2go Quick factsNon-credit Ed2go medical billing and coding course offered by Texas State CE, with a voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS exam. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online Not stated on the Texas State page | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) The University of Memphis · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,599 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) University of Florida · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,709 Other costs may apply | |
Online Medical Billing and Coding Training University of Houston (Online & Special Programs) · training by Ed2go Quick factsNon-credit, self-paced Ed2go course offered via UH Online with ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT and HCPCS Level II training and a choice of CPC, CCA or CBCS exam voucher. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 12 months to complete 370 course hours | Not published | |
Medical Billing and Coding Specialist University of Montana Bitterroot College · training by Ed2go Quick factsSelf-paced 370-hour noncredit online course (ed2go) with a medical terminology module and a certification exam voucher. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online · Self-paced 370 hours online, 12 months access | $3,894 Promo $3,499 (conditions apply) Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) Utah Valley University · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,604 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) Vermont State University (Center for Workforce & Professional Education) · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,499 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding (Voucher Included) Whatcom Community College · training by Ed2go Quick factsOnline self-paced medical billing and coding course of 370 course hours with 12 months of access; the learner chooses an exam voucher for the CPC, CCA or CBCS certification. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Not published |
| Fully online 370 course hours; 12 months of access | $3,499 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coding Certification Training Online (CPC-A) Genesis Medical College Quick facts100% online, on-demand medical coding course covering ICD-10-CM, CPT, HCPCS and intro ICD-10-PCS, with EHR simulation labs and one CPC-A exam voucher included. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Approximately 9 months | $3,440 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certification Glen Oaks Community College Quick factsSelf-paced, fully online workforce training covering terminology, ICD-10-CM/CPT/HCPCS coding and claims, with a voucher for one national certification exam; 12 months of access. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Not published | Not published | |
Certified Professional Medical Coder Workplace Certificate Hawkeye Community College Quick factsFive-month online program: self-paced terminology/anatomy modules, then evening coding sessions with a 600-record Practicode practicum and AAPC exam. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Mixed · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Mixed 5 months | $4,099 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate San Francisco State University, College of Professional & Global Education · training by Health Ed Today Quick factsSelf-paced online course with ICD-10-CM/CPT coding, claims and HIPAA topics plus an optional volunteer externship; prepares for national certification exams. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Up to 9 months (6 months access with possible 3-month extension) | $1,799 Other costs may apply | |
Online Medical Coding Bootcamp (CPC-A) Health Tech Academy Quick factsSelf-paced 14-week online bootcamp covering terminology, diagnostic, procedural and surgical coding, with eBooks, a CPC-A exam fee and mentor coaching included. Credit: Noncredit · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced 14 weeks | $2,900 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Coding Diploma Program Online Herzing University Academic programQuick facts25-credit online diploma covering ICD-10-CM, ICD-10-PCS, CPT/HCPCS coding, patient privacy, insurance claims and anatomy, with a certification review course. Credit: Credit-bearing · 25 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma |
| Fully online As little as 8 months; listed length 10 months | $13,250 Other costs may apply | |
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate Kirtland Community College Academic programQuick factsEntirely online credit program that can be taken part-time (5 semesters) or full-time (3 semesters); exam fees are not covered by tuition. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Self-paced · Audience: Not published Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Billing & coding Course completion certificate |
| Fully online · Self-paced Part-time 5 semesters; full-time 3 semesters | $9,500 Other costs may apply | |
OEC in Medical Office Coding University of Alaska Anchorage (Kodiak College) · training by Kodiak College, University of Alaska Anchorage Academic programQuick facts17-credit, three-semester fully online occupational endorsement certificate in medical office coding delivered through Kodiak College and UAA. Credit: Credit-bearing · 17 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Beginners No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online 18 months (three semesters), 17 semester credits | Not published | |
Medical Coding Specialist Certificate (CRT.MCS) Lake Land College Academic programQuick factsCredit certificate in diagnostic and procedural coding that Lake Land states is offered online, with an internship course. Credit: Credit-bearing · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Academic certificate |
| Fully online Not published | Not published | |
Medical Coding Professional Macomb Community College Quick factsWorkforce and Continuing Education program completed entirely online in about nine months, preparing for the AAPC CPC exam. Credit: Not stated · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Not published |
| Fully online Nine months | Not published | |
Medical Coding Specialist Madison Area Technical College (Madison College) Academic programQuick factsThirty-five-credit technical diploma delivered all online (virtual campus) with some proctored final exams; limited to Wisconsin residents. Credit: Credit-bearing · 35 credits · Pacing: Not published · Audience: Not published No price is published on the program page. Reviewed October 18, 2026 | Medical coding Diploma |
| Fully online Not published | Not published |
Certified Professional Coder (CPC)
- Issuing organization
- AAPC (American Academy of Professional Coders) · official site
- Intended audience
- Not confirmed from an official page
- Current eligibility requirements
- Apprentice designation
- Passing the exam earns CPC-A; the A is removed after meeting a 2-year experience requirement shown via two signed letters of recommendation (one from employer on letterhead). Completing the AAPC CPC Preparation course (80 contact hours) waives 1 year; Practicode (all 3 modules at 70%+) counts for 1 year. Source snippets dated; AAPC discussion thread also hints the A designation may have been eliminated - MUST confirm on current AAPC page. (source)
- Exam format
- 100 multiple-choice questions, 4 hours, proctored, open book (approved code books), 70% to pass (snippets of AAPC pages; older AAPC PDF lists 150 questions / 5h40m, dated) (source)
- Exam fee
- official page blocked, not confirmed (an AAPC FAQ lists student exam pricing 1 attempt $325, 2 attempts $425; standard price not found) (source)
- Official credential information
- https://www.aapc.com/certification/cpc/
- Last reviewed
- October 18, 2026
Beginner training versus exam review
2 of the 107 programs for this exam are advanced exam preparation, intended for people who already work in coding or billing. They are filed under “Advanced exam preparation” and are not presented as beginner career programs.
Vouchers and memberships
Of 107 programs that state CPC preparation, 67 state that a CPC exam voucher is included and 39 state that a membership is included. A voucher pays for an exam attempt; it does not make you eligible and does not guarantee a pass. The number of included attempts is shown only where the provider publishes it; “not confirmed” is not “no”.
Published tuition among these programs ranges from $1,400 to $13,250 (58 with a published price).
Certificate vs certification · How we verify preparation claims











