Billing & codingAcademic programHybrid (some in-person)
Medical Billing and Coding Certificate
Academic program. This is a credit-bearing academic program; check the award and credit details below.
Hybrid program — not fully online. Page says most courses are offered online and virtually with instructor-led evening sessions; any on-site requirement is not stated.
Cost
$6,338
Published tuition (Estimated total program cost)
| Item | Amount | Status |
|---|---|---|
| Estimated total program cost Published price · includes tuition, fees, books, AAPC membership Estimate for the 37-credit program | $6,338 total | Compulsory |
| AAPC exam fee (per exam, not in program cost) Fee Each exam fee includes one free re-take | $475 per course | Optional |
- Other compulsory charges may exist that the provider does not publish.
- Prices checked October 18, 2026.
Delivery and schedule
- Format
- Hybrid (some in-person)
- Pacing
- Instructor-led
- Scheduled live attendance
- Not published
- Start dates
- Scheduled start datesCohort model, winter start; limited entry
- Expected duration
- Less than 1 year; starts in winter and finishes at end of summer term
- Weekly workload
- Not published
- Course access
- Not published
- In-person requirements
- Page says most courses are offered online and virtually with instructor-led evening sessions; any on-site requirement is not stated.
Award and certification
- Award from the institution
- Academic certificate: Medical Billing and Coding Certificate (Certificate of Completion)Issued by Clackamas Community College
- Academic credit
- Credit-bearing · 37 credits
- Professional credential preparation
- CPB — Certified Professional BillerVoucher not confirmed · membership includedProvider statement
- CPC — Certified Professional CoderExam voucher included · membership includedCourse fees cover AAPC student membership, practice exams and the national certification exam (page says exam fee also listed as not included - $475 per exam; conflicting wording, verify).Provider statement
- CPB — Certified Professional Biller
- Eligibility caveat
- Completing this program does not award a professional credential. Eligibility requirements are set by the credentialing body and may include separate education, membership or experience conditions.
Curriculum
- Overview
- 37-credit cohort certificate (winter start, finish end of summer) with mostly online and virtual instructor-led classes, tied to AAPC CPB and CPC exams.
- Main subjects
- Medical insurance billing
- Legal landscape
- Insurance analysis
- Patient account management
- Coding patient visits
- Data security
- Coding systems covered
- Not published
- Billing and reimbursement content
- Create claims, handle adjustments, navigate insurance reimbursements
- Medical terminology and anatomy
- Included
- Software or practice platform
- Not published
- Practical exercises
- Not published
Admissions
- Educational prerequisites
- BI-120 or BI-231/232/233 anatomy and physiology; HP-110 Medical Terminology; WR-101 or WR-121Z
- Audience
- Beginners
- Age requirement
- Not published
- State or residency restrictions
- None published
- Technology requirements
- Not published
Financial assistance
- Federal student aid
- Not confirmed
- Payment plan
- Not confirmed
- Other
- Scholarships and grants available; Financial Aid Available tag on page
Aid eligibility is checked per program. A university marketing a course does not make that course aid-eligible, and financing is not a scholarship or grant.
Who is behind this program
- Institution marketing the program
- Clackamas Community College · Community college Research checked
- Actual training provider
- Clackamas Community College (same as the institution)
- Underlying program
- Medical Billing and Coding Certificate
- Institutional accreditation / approvals
- Not confirmedInstitutional accreditation does not mean a program is approved by a professional certification body.
Sources and review
Last reviewed October 18, 2026. Source check: “verified” means the quoted text was found on the page by an automated check; “pending” means not yet checked or the page could not be read.
- verifiedinstitutionclackamas.edu“Medical Billing and Coding Certificate award CC Certificate of Completion”
- verifiedawardclackamas.edu“Medical Billing and Coding Certificate award CC Certificate of Completion type of award Less Than 1 Year total Credits 37”
- verifieddurationclackamas.edu“This full-time academic program starts in winter with students completing their certificate at the end of summer term.”
- verifiedcurriculumclackamas.edu“Medical insurance billing: Create claims, handle adjustments and navigate the world of insurance reimbursements.”
- verifiedadmissionsclackamas.edu“HP-110 Medical Terminology”
- verifiedfinancial aidclackamas.edu“Financial Aid Available”
- verifiedofficial pageclackamas.edu
Something wrong or out of date? Report a correction. Provider representative? Claim this profile.